ULg University of Liège


The University of Liège is located in Wallonia, along the Meuse in Liège, Belgium.
The reputation of the medieval schools of Liège was such that the city became known as the New Athens. The list is impressive indeed: the College of the Brethern of the Common Life, the College of Jesuits, the Schools of Higher Learning founded by Prince-Bishop Velbruck, the English Academy, and the Imperial Academy (under Napoleon). The founding of the University of Liège in 1817 by Wilhem the First of Orange was the culmination of a long intellectual tradition going back to the inception of the Principality of Liège.


The University of Liege is the only public, pluralist and complete university institution of the French Walloon-Brussels community. It is a part of the Wallonia-Europe University Academy. It aims at maintaining a fair balance between teaching, research and community service activities, in the broad lines recognised by its complete university status.

Fully integrated in the Bologna process aiming at establishing a large harmonised zone of higher education in Europe, Ulg welcomes 17000 students spread out over nine Faculties, one Institute and one Management School. The University offers a very large range of courses: 34 degree courses, 172 masters courses (of which 21% are unique in French-speaking Belgium) and 60 complementary masters courses. Located at the crossroads of the German and Latin cultures, with a global outlook on international aspects, the University of Liege devotes a considerable part of its teaching to foreign language classes in order to ensure that its students are citizens who are truly active on a European level. As a public university, it considers itself to be vested with a social type of educative assignment. It encourages the integration of new types of teaching (problem-solving, supervised training sessions, role-plays, ...) and the acquisition of combined skills.


Faculty of Applied Sciences - ULg